No events are planned

Jungwirth Tomáš

prof., PhD.
Born October 23, 1967 in Prague

  • condensed matter physics; materials science; many-body phenomena; electronic properties of semiconductor heterostructures, low-dimensional systems, and nanostructures; quantum Hall e ects; carrier-mediated ferromagnetism in diluted magnetic semiconductors; magnetic, magneto-transport and magneto-optical properties of ferromagnetic semiconductors; spin-orbit coupling phenomena; anisotropic magnetoresistace in magnetic bulk and nano-devices, anomalous and spin Hall e fects, metal and semiconductor spintronics
  • Member of Learned Society since 2009

Educational and professional preparation:

  • M.S. degree in physics, Charles University Praha, 1991.
  • PhD. degree in condensed matter physics, Charles University Praha 1997
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Indiana University 1997-1999
  • Research Fellow, University of Texas 2000-2002

Employment and academic positions:

  • Head of Dept. of Spintronics and Nanoelectronics, Institute of Physics ASCR
  • Professor, University of Nottingham
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Texas

Membership and positions in international organizations and societies:

  • Member of the International Advisory Committee of the ICMFS (International Colloquium on Magnetic Thin Films and Surfaces)
  • Panel Member for the ERC Advanced Grant evaluation
  • Member of the Advisory Committee of the EU Program EUROCORES
  • External panel member and referee for the UK EPSRC Grant Agency, US Department
    of Energy and National Science Foundation
  • Member of the Scienti c Council of the Grant Agency of the Czech Republic
  • External Advisor of Hitachi Cambridge Laboratory
  • Member of the American Physical Society

Notable awards:

  • Milan Odehnal Prize of the Union of Czech Mathematicians and Physisists, 1996
  • Josef Hlávka Prize, 1996
  • Bolzano Foundation Prize of the European Physical Society, 1996
  • NATO-NSF Advanced Fellowship, 2000
  • Otto Wichterle Prize of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, 2002
  • Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic Prize, 2005
  • Otto Wichterle Prize of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (2002).

Selected publications:

  • T. Jungwirth, P. Horodyska, N. Tesařová, P. Němec, J. Šubrt, P. Malý, P. Kužel, C. Kadlec, J. Mašek, I. Němec, M.Orlita,V. Novák, K. Olejník, Z. Šobáň, P. Vašek, P. Svoboda, Jairo Sinova 
    Systematic study of Mn-doping trends in optical properties of (Ga,Mn)As 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 105 (2010) 227201(1) - 227201(4).
  • J. Mašek, F. Máca, J. Kudrnovský, O. Makarovský, L. Eaves, R. P. Campion, K. W. Edmonds, A. W. Rushforth, C. T. Foxon, B. L. Gallagher, V. Novák, Jairo Sinova, T. Jungwirth 
    Microscopic analysis of the valence band and impurity band theories of (Ga,Mn)As 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 105 (2010) 227202(1) - 227202(4). 
  • J. Wunderlich, B. G. Park, A. C. Irvine, L. P. Zarbo, E. Rozkotová, P. Němec, V. Novák, Jairo Sinova, T. Jungwirth 
    Spin Hall effect transistor 
    Science 330 (2010) 1801 - 1804. 
  • J. Wunderlich, A. C. Irvine, Jairo Sinova, B. G. Park, L. P. Zarbo, X. L. Xu, B. Kaestner, V. Novák, T. Jungwirth 
    Spin-injection Hall effect in a planar photovoltaic cell 
    Nature Physics 5 (2009) 675 - 681. 
  • T. Jungwirth, B. L. Gallagher, J. Wunderlich 
    Transport properties of ferromagnetic semiconductors 
    Spintronics, Semiconductors and Semimetals vol. 82, p. 135-205 (Elsevier, 2008) 
  • V. Novák, K. Olejník, J. Wunderlich, M. Cukr, K. Výborný, A. W. Rushforth, K. V. Edmonds, R. P. Campion, B. L. Gallagher, Jairo Sinova, T. Jungwirth 
    Curie point singularity in the temperature derivative of resistivity in (Ga,Mn)As 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 101 (2008) 077201-1 - 077201-4. 
  • I. Stolichnov, S. W. E. Riester, H. J. Trodahl, N. Setter, A. W. Rushforth, K. W. Edmonds, R. P. Campion, C. T. Foxon, B. L. Gallagher, T. Jungwirth 
    Non-volatile ferroelectric control of ferromagnetism in (Ga,Mn)As 
    Nature Materials 7 (2008) 464 - 467. 
  • T. Jungwirth, J. Sinova, J. Mašek, J. Kučera, A.H. MacDonald 
    Theory of ferromagnetic (III,Mn)V semiconductors 
    Rev. Mod. Phys. 78 (2006) 809 - 864. 
  • J. Wunderlich, B. Kaestner, J. Sinova, T. Jungwirth 
    Experimental observation of the spin-Hall effect in a two dimensional spin-orbit coupled semiconductor system 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 94 (2005) 047204(1) - 047204. 
  • J. Sinova, D. Culcer, Q. Niu, N. Sinitsyn, T. Jungwirth, A.H. MacDonald 
    Universal intrinsic spin-Hall effect 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 92 (2004) 126603(1) - 126603(4). 
  • T. Jungwirth, Qian Niu, A.H. MacDonald 
    Anomalous Hall Effect in Ferromagnetic Semiconductors 
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 88 (2002) 207208(1) - 207208(4). 
  • V. Piazza, V. Pellegrini, F. Beltram, W. Wegscheider, T. Jungwirth, A. H. MacDonald 
    First-order phase transitions in a quantum Hall ferromagnet 
    Nature 402 (1999) 638 - 641.

Back to the list of articles



Luboš Perek is celebrating his 100th year

Founding fellow of the Learned Society and its doyen, astronomer doc. RNDr. Luboš Perek, DrSc, is celebrating his 100th birthday on 26 July 2019. He is an indelible part of history as the person who helped define cosmic space, he was the first to point out the issue of cosmic waste and was also a teacher to the most important Czechoslovak astronomers. Let us express our respect and admiration of the extraordinary scientific career of a person who worked tirelessly and continues to work. The Learned Society wishes Mr Perek health, optimism and joy in the oncoming years.


The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic has appealed to the Hungarian President to support academic freedom

On Friday 19 July the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic and the Learned Society of the Czech Republic sent a letter to Hungarian President János Ánder, in which they state their concerns regarding the situation in respect to management and funding of scientific activities in Hungary. An act, according to which not the Academy of Sciences, but a thirteen-member political committee, will decide on research, funding of scientific activities and establishment or closure of scientific workplaces, will come into force on 1 September.


The loss of Learned Society Fellow prof. Josef Koutecký

We regret to inform that prof. Josef Koutecký, a fellow of the Learned Society, a renowned physician and the founder of paediatric oncology in this country, passed away on 5 July 2019 at the age of 88. He founded paediatric oncology here in 1964 and a separate paediatric oncology department was then established at the Faculty Hospital in Motol, Prague in 1978.